Half

From SCA Heraldry Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

WARNING: Do not cite this page as a reference. This page is on this wikispace only to make the content "searchable" and easier to find. If you find the information you seek here, go to the original sources to verify the information and use them for your documentation.


Glossary of Terms[edit]

Many of the Rules for Submission concerning armorial difference discuss change to half a charge group. For the purposes of counting armorial difference, half is usually defined in the mathematical sense. However, in certain circumstances, half may be defined differently, as indicated by precedent. Some of these circumstances are:

  • The bottommost of three charges arranged two and one, either alone on the field or surrounding a central ordinary such as a fess or chevron, is defined as half of that charge group. However, no more than one difference may be obtained by making changes to that bottommost charge.
  • The two portions of a field divided per chevron// or //per chevron inverted are each considered half for determining difference of the field.

[[1]]


Precedents:[edit]

#167Alamanda de la Roca. Device. Per chevron azure and argent, two mullets of eight points argent and a salamander passant reguardant sable enflamed proper. This device is returned for conflict with the device of Deporodh of Rannoch, reblazoned elsewhere on this letter as Per chevron azure and argent, two mullets argent and a birch leaf vert//, the device of Kirsten Thorsteinsdottir, //Per chevron azure and argent, two compass stars argent and a lion's head erased gules//, and the device of Alrikr af Stjarnaheimi, //Per chevron throughout azure and argent, two compass stars and a pithon embowed counterchanged. In all cases there is only one DC for the changes to only half of the primary charge group. As the bottommost of three charges is considered a special case "half" of the charge group under SENA A5C2d, any changes to it may only receive a maximum of one DC. Even though it has changed in both type and tincture, we still can only count it as one DC. http://heraldry.sca.org/loar/2013/03/13-03lar.html